Posted: 17/11/2012 in Uncategorized

Add your thoughts here… (optional)

CYBER ARMS - Computer Security

I noticed something odd a while back when using Microsoft Live mail. When I typed in my legitimate password to my e-mail account I got this error message:

“If you have been using a password longer than 16 characters, please enter the first 16?”

Sure enough, I put in the first 16 characters of the password and I was in. So in effect, it looks like they just buzzed their password database and truncated all the passwords down to 16.

But that is not all.

This morning I went to login to my Microsoft mail and got the good old “It’s time to change your password” message.

No problem!

Well, yeah there was. I used several special characters and when I tried to use some of them, which were in my existing password, I received this message:

WHAT???

Okay, it looks like it accepted some of the special…

View original post 299 more words

Leave a Reply

